Dim Sum Break with Confucius

Time for another Odd Trio prompt: write a post about any topic you want, in whatever form or genre, but make sure it features a slice of cake, a pair of flip-flops, and someone old and wise.

 life-is-simple-confucius

Confucius came to have breakfast with me this morning, with a slice of cake and a pair of flip-flops.

“I read the Fault in Our Stars and I find the Augustus Waters’ metaphors very inspiring that I have come to show you a couple metaphors, too,” Confucius greeted me, beaming at the slice of cake and the pair of flip-flops.

“I know your question even before you ask me about it. For a change, why don’t you give me an answer and I will tell you if you have the right question,” he continued as I offered him too pick anything from the dim sum platter.

“So a slice of cake, and a pair of flip-flops. They are metaphors, huh?” I started talking, struggling for the answers I need to give him so I may know if I am asking the right questions.

“I need a break, I know, wise man.”

“You do?”

“Yes. And a slice of cake and a pair of flip-flops are just the things I need.”

“Is that right?”

Sometimes talking to someone very old and wise makes me impatient, but I knew what he was trying to lead me on.

“Life is too delectable to go solo on a sweet fix. A slice of cake will do, and a slice means others have their one slices too. We all deserve something sweet, then we might as well share the pleasure this life gives us.”

“I am listening,” he mumbled through the steamy sweet buns.

“Wearing a pair of flip-flops is the best feeling after walking on a plank in high heels. Sometimes going flat makes us feel the ground better and appreciate the roads we journey more.”

“I am listening,” he told me, this time, smiling with eyes closed as he took pleasure devouring a couple of spring rolls.

“I am glad you came with a slice of cake and a pair of flip-flops,” I thanked him, as I popped a fried dumpling into my mouth, smiling through bits that fall off each time I chewed.

“Did you like the metaphors?”

“Did I get them right?”

“I don’t think that is what you want to ask,” Confucius grabbed a fortune cookie and started to leave his seat. he gave me wink and then he disappeared.

“I know right,” I smiled at an empty space. I got a fortune cookie myself, more interested on how it tasted than what the piece of paper inside would say.

“I should be wise enough to know what to do with this life. And I need more than luck to do this.”

 

1753832_orig

 

http://www.dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/odd-trio-redux/

 

 

Author: Acey

I bleed coffee.

Leave a Reply

