The Habit of Omission: Overindulgence in Ellipsis

 

Three-spaced periods for intentional omission…is it a sin to use ellipsis all the time? The thing is…

When skipping the irrelevant…

When omitting the nonsense…

When cutting the crap…

When dropping the redundant…

When slashing the unimportant…

When killing what needs not be mentioned…

When I am out of words to explain what I need to explain…


When I am trying to figure out something…

When something perplexes me…

When I am dumbfounded…

When you talk Math with me…

When I am too tired to continue…

When I am unsure of the grammatically-acceptable standards of writing…


When you are supposed to know what you are talking about and you are all over the place…

When I am trying to be poetic…


When I am moved by what other people have said and done, in whatever way they have said and done what they have said and done…

When I see, hear, taste, smell, feel anything that is close to heaven…

When I imagine the impossible…

When I flirt with my dreams…

When I am trying to be kind…

When I am pensive…

When I am about to make a life decision…

When I watch my words…

When I am trying to make a point…


When I sugarcoat sarcasm…

When on the verge of lying…

When at the brink of telling the truth…

When no word is left less-insulting…

When I what I am trying to say is, “Need I say more?” …

When I hold my tongue for some truth too difficult to swallow, but let go of it anyway…

When saying one more word more than once will just make you look stupid…

When I express something that goes without saying…

When I wish to be understood…

When I am pissed…

When I feel the need to shut up…

When you should feel the need to shut up…

When no words can sum up what I truly feel…

When I don’t know what else to say…

…I use ellipsis.

And each I time I do, why do I have this feeling that I don’t mean to omit anything at all?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/by-the-dots/

image from: http://www.ellipsisliverpool.blogspot.com

Author: Acey

I bleed coffee.

1 thought on “The Habit of Omission: Overindulgence in Ellipsis”

Leave a Reply

