A Metaphor for Life Lessons

Am I not over it yet? Am I supposed to come back? Or am I just being reminded about the truth about what friendship really is?

I have been having recurring dreams of places from my high school. In most of those dreams, I am strolling the hallways, spending time in the library, looking for someone at the quadrangle, talking with someone on the bench—all these scenes with my present self who has been out of high school for more than a decade now, and in most scenes, I am not even with the important people from my high school.

Dreaming about high school is a metaphor for life lessons. Dreams about high school take you back to the priorities, principles and values you have taken for granted and you have to relearn. Although it might suggest inadequacies of the things you are capable of, thereby meaning you have to be schooled again, a dream that places you in school is nothing short of a reminder that even if life has taken you to places far, wide and high, there will always be lessons to learn.

Having recurring dreams about my high school has made me succumb to the realization that my dreams are trying to teach me about valuing real friends I meet in high school because I will never meet people like them even in another lifetime. The high school I attended is very far from how it looked more than 10 years ago. However, having walked its halls once more in one of class reunions I have attended, or even having passed quite often by the streets where it stands, I realized that behind the beautifully renovated edifice, still lie the memories of my high school days that are so timeless that I can still vividly imagine how cozy the places where I have shared secrets, stories, hopes and dreams with important people I call high school friends, still are.

What lesson does your dream teach you? Tell me about it.

 

( http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/freudian-flips/ )

Author: Acey

I bleed coffee.

1 thought on “A Metaphor for Life Lessons”

Leave a Reply

